Discontinued Master Data allow you to hide old records that are no longer in use, such as Customers, Vendors, Items, and more. They’re flagged as Discontinued and kept separate from your master data lists.
Hide records without having to delete them
Dynamics 365 Business Central and Dynamics NAV doesn’t allow you to delete items. For consistency it needs to keep track of all the master records that have been used previously. Discontinued records will instead be hidden from all the master lists without deleting them. The discontinued records are separated into secondary lists that allow restoration as needed.
from your main lists. If you want to hide an item that is obsolete, or you are no longer dealing with a vendor, or you have moved one of your warehouses to a new location, you select the corresponding record and click the Discontinue button on the ribbon. The record will be moved to a discontinued list and will be hidden from all the relevant lists. If you need it again, you can restore it at any time.
Areas you can discontinue records in
You can discontinue records in the following areas:
Automatically hide records
If you want to automatically discontinue a record as soon as it’s no longer used, you can mark each record to do so and it will automatically discontinue after a related transaction.